top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnalise Lecher

HOMEGROWN

Updated: Mar 7, 2019

I’m so happy to have you here reading my blog, if you don’t know me personally let me give you a low down on my life thus far. My name is Annalise Lecher and I am currently a student at the University of Nebraska at Kearney. I grew up in Western Nebraska in Sidney, home of the world's foremost outfitter, Cabelas. My little town gave me so many opportunities growing up, from academics, to sports, and the fantastic relationships I was able to make with others sharing my hometown.



Throughout my life, I have been blessed to have been able to take family vacations each year. I believe that from a young age, I have always had a passion for traveling. I find it exciting, the opportunity to discover a new place filled with endless amounts of people whom I was able to connect with. Learning from others’ life experiences and backgrounds is just one of the many perks of traveling. I feel that through these encounters with others, I have been able to grow into the young adult that I am today. I chose to study abroad because I knew that my life could only flourish by the experiences that I will encounter while traveling and attending school in Europe for a couple of months.


I am unable to recall the exact moment when I decided that I wanted to spend some time during my life to explore all that Europe has to offer. However, I can say that the idea probably originated from the 2003 movie Lizzie Mcguire. When I was younger, I used to watch that movie over and over again. Romanticizing the thought that someday I might be able to have an experience like Lizzie. In order to ensure that I would have enough time in my college years to embark on such a journey, I worked ahead in high school. My hard work and dedication through my highschool years allowed me to enter the University of Nebraska at Kearney as an academic Sophomore my freshman year. Thanks to the credits that I took during that time, I have the opportunity to take a semester to follow in Lizzie Mcguire's footsteps. ;)


Through my passion for traveling and hospitality, I stumbled upon the career field that I wanted to enter. After I graduate from UNK in just short of two years, I plan to enter into the hospitality field as an event coordinator. I had an amazing opportunity this past summer to intern with Bass Pro Shops Big Cedar Lodge in Ridgedale, Missouri. This experience lit a fire in me and I just knew that I had chosen the right career path for myself. This career path will expose me to many different people from several backgrounds, my experience abroad will hopefully better prepare me to connect and communicate with future customers. My goal as a professional in the hospitality industry is to develop an understanding of how service is different all around the world. From my travels, I expect to gain insight into the unique service techniques that I may be able to implement in my career someday.


During my time abroad, I am looking forward to building deeper relationships with my fellow classmates while also establishing new relationships with locals that I meet. As you can see, I am thrilled about this opportunity to travel across the world to further discover who I am by exploring new places, building new relationships, and creating memories that will last a lifetime.



Hugs,

Annalise

106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page