top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnalise Lecher

INTERACTION WITH LOCALS



My interactions with local Czech people have been for the most part very pleasant. The culture of the Czech people is just a little bit different than good old Nebraska. As you probably know, in central America it is very normal for strangers to open doors for others, to smile at each other during a casual passing on the street, or to apologize when accidentally bumping into one another while walking. However, none of these things are customary in the Czech Republic. While it is neither good nor bad, it did take a little bit of time to get used to.

My biggest adjustments were not saying sorry for everything or expecting strangers to smile back at me when I would flash a smile in casual passing. (I would like to point out that I still try to get a smile out of people ;) ) I have found that the older generations are very unlikely to interact with me through smiling or just a casual head nod, however, people in their mid 20’s or younger are more likely to share a friendly gesture.


People who fit into that same age bracket are also much more likely to speak english opposed to older generations who grew up in the Czech Republic and only know the Czech language. The younger generations are valuable assets to my fellow classmates and I, who speak only very basic Czech. We rely on the assistance of bilingual speakers to function in daily tasks. I have many times asked a younger person a question about being in the right place for transportation or to learn more about the culture in the Czech Republic. The younger people are also very valuable to use as translators between older generation Czech people who run shops, grocery stores, and restaurants.


This leads me into the next topic that I would like to discuss which is the difference between Czech and American service culture. Czech store operators, waiters/waitresses, and any other type of worker, generally make the customer feel like a nuisance for making them do their job. Meaning that a waitress would be very annoyed that you had the nerve to come into their restaurant and sit down. In contrast to America, the service industry doesn't revolve around the customer. In the Czech Republic, there is no such statement as “the customer is always right”. Please understand that not every service experience or interaction with Czech people has been like this, I have had wonderful conversations with restaurant owners and people who have served me, but in general, these are the attitudes of the Czech people.


For example, I got sick one day before class and ran into a DM drug sore (comparable to a Walgreens or CVS) and tried to look for medicine that would help me with my upset stomach. Of course all the medicine is printed in Czech so it was difficult for me to decide what I needed to get. The woman who was working in the store came over and tried to help me, but she did not speak any english. So we communicated through hand motions and using google translate. She made it clear that this store did not have what I needed so she drew me a little map of how to get to the nearest pharmacy. This is an example of how GREAT the people of the Czech Republic are! Another woman waiting in line to check out even chimed in to clear up my confusion of what where to go.


Having to communicate through google translate has been so helpful but also inconvenient. It creates a very impersonal experience while trying to interact with the locals. It also makes me feel very foreign and silly for only speaking one language. But regardless, as in any country there are nice people and people who are not as friendly and nice. I have been very fortunate to meet so many amazing locals that have shared and taught me their culture and traditions!


So the next time that you come across an international traveler that looks like they may be confused or need some help, take a little bit of time and patience to help them out.


Hugs and Blessings,

Annalise

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page